SFFS 01/11/2014

SFFSat logo

Welcome to this week’s round of SFFS snippets.

I’m continuing to post from the WIP A Good Day to Die, beginning where I left off at the end of last week. Nothing much in this snippet, but maybe a crumb or two.

He took the time while waiting for security to restabilise his emotions. It clearly wouldn’t do to get emotional now. A waste of energy. That didn’t mean he wouldn’t be plotting his revenge.

“One question, sir?”

The captain nodded.

“What’s in it for me?”

Stupid question. He was just a tool – a dangerous one at that.

The Admiral glared. “What’s in it for the cyborg? Nutrients, bed, ablutions, exercise equipment.”

Way to buy the loyalty, Admiral!

So perhaps a little food for thought.

Please let me know what you think, and then go on to the SFFS site to have a look at what the other authors have contributed this week.  Thanks for stopping by.

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, SFFS Snippet, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SFFS 01/11/2014

  1. Peter Vialls says:

    So maybe the Admiral isn’t so bad, after all? Or else he sensed our protagonist’s resentment and decided to nip it in the bud at this stage. Cynical? Me? Never!

    Like

  2. I’m glad he has the courage to ask a question.

    Like

Comments are closed.