It’s been almost nine months…

My daughter is almost nine months old. Now why is that important – apart from the fact that it’s almost equivalent to the amount of time I carried her inside me? You see, it’s taken me almost this long to, um, come to terms with the fact that my life isn’t mine anymore.

Getting married is an adjustment, but on a far lesser scale. Each side of the marriage has their quirks and habits, but one is still able to eat when one wants to, walk out the house when one wants to, go to the loo (!) when one wants to (if not, there’s something seriously wrong!). Ok, we’re talking about a “normal” marriage relationship here.

But when a baby joins the party, WOW! Especially for Mommy, nothing is simple any more. Even something as basic as standing up and taking one step can be greeted by screams (yet again!), let alone all the paraphernalia one needs when one leaves the house – oh, and don’t forget the baby! Seriously, it can sometimes be a bit much.

And this is where this post comes in. We still have our off days, but for the most part, we’re settling down. That should read: Mommy is settling down. I have mellowed somewhat in the last month. I’m not sure if my husband would agree, but I’m less likely to have an “irritated” reaction to a scream from upstairs in the early evening, or to a request to “hold me please”.

It really does take time.

