Finding a Voice

For quite a few years now I have struggled with blogging. I discovered, the more I spoke to other people, that I didn’t have so much to say. I didn’t have a voice. I wanted to say ‘something’, but it was a very nebulous something that didn’t have any words attached to it.

I recently had several discussions with a writer friend, JC Cassels, and this blog is the result. I still struggle to find words, but it’s getting easier.

In life, finding a voice is speaking and living the truth. Each of you is an original. Each of you has a distinctive voice. When you find it, your story will be told. You will be heard. – John Grisham

7 thoughts on “Finding a Voice

  1. Many people worry about holding conversation and saying ‘something’, but really it’s better to be interested than interesting. Anyone can talk but it takes real skill to listen.

  2. From the few blog posts of yours that I’ve read, I can tell you have a wonderful voice. I do think finding one’s voice is the proverbial journey, not the destination. Enjoy the journey. 🙂

  3. I was surprised, after I began blogging, to see how much my writing voice has grown and developed. It is slightly different than my ‘fiction’ voice, due to the different purposes. Both are who I am, and both are fun to jump back and forth from. Good luck on your journey.

    • Thanks for commenting! I do think that one’s voice can even change from post to post. I think my issue is, in part, a combat between feeling that I should be “focussing on a topic” and “being able to blog about anything in an engaging way”. Ah well, practice build experience (I don’t think “makes perfect” is relevant in this case).

Comments are closed.