Mommyhood is not for the faint-hearted

I’m sure there are many blog posts out there on this. No matter. I’m just going to add my two-penny-‘orth to them.

In the last week or so I’ve got tired of being polite about a few things in life. One of them is the accepted convention that, if someone asks you ‘How are you?’, you smile politely and say ‘Fine.’ when in reality everything is falling apart.

So, here’s the deal. Some days being a Mommy to a child under five is a lonely, isolating and downright depressing place to be. Even if the child is a sunny, smiley one – which mine is not always. This gets exacerbated if, like me, Mommy is not a homebody. I cannot, and never have been able to, thrive on my own company. If I’m cooped up in the house by myself, sooner or later (but assuredly) I’m going to start climbing walls. I need other people (and not just a baby) around me. Not crowds, mind you, but one-to-one meetups with others.

And no, I don’t have the answers/solution to this. And yes, I do know that I’m not alone.

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Identity, Parenting, Psychology, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mommyhood is not for the faint-hearted

  1. Beccy Stones says:

    Go out! Find Mommies! It really, really helps. But you need to like the other Mommies for their attributes above their Mommyness. Find writing mommies, odd mommies, mommies with chessboards in their prams (genuine, I found one such at a library). I found a whole gamut of mommy friends through one La Leche League meeting. Go to the Mommy Fringes and you might find friends there: Elimination communication, homeschooling (okay this is more mainstream than it was). If you can’t find a group, try creating one online and creating a local chapter of your virtual group.

    Like

    • Oh, we do go out. Quite a lot. Sometimes one just runs out of steam to do so. And yes, I’ve already got an online group going đŸ™‚ There are a few other factors involved, I do have to say – ones that I won’t repeat in public. I do have it on record from one friend, though (with four children) that even with friends and family around one can hit the wall.

      Like

Comments are closed.