Teetering TBR piles

117586240241007364_UsQCouKj_cI think many of us book lovers have a teetering, tottering TBR (to-be-read, to the uninitiated) pile of books. I know I have. Aside from quite a few hard-copy books sitting on my real-world bookshelves, I have over five hundred books on my Kindle – not to mention the ‘other format’ e-books sitting on my computer, possibly several hundred there too.

In a slight aside, I will not make any comments about book addictions, and the need to (and act of) acquire(ing) more, despite the predicament of those books at the supposed top of the pile!

So. How do I cope with this quite frankly overload of reading material? For a while I lamented, asking ‘Which book shall I read next?’ while scrolling through the endless titles, all of which interest me quite a lot, but none of which leap out at me, if you know what I mean. Lately, however, I’ve found myself creating a shortlist of ‘the ones that are next in line’. This is partly due to the fact I now run a review website – Zhurrat Reviews – so some books MUST be read. And then I get other people asking me ‘Have you read this book?’ – ‘No.’ – and so the next one gets added to the shortlist.

As of today, I have ten books on my shortlist, in a relatively stable order-to-be-read too… Do I think they’ll stay like that? Probably not. Oh. And did I mention I’m planning to review twenty-four Christmas-themed books over advent (well, 1st December to 24th)? Yeah. I think I’m going to be busy.

