SFFS 24/08/2013 – Fear

Good morning all! I thought I should give y’all a bit more context about this Fear sketch. As I mentioned before, it’s part of a bigger story. This may sound like Earth, but the MC is on another planet, who knows where. She was transported there from Earth mysteriously and, as I said, is having a nightmare. Nightmares can be earth-related, right? Even scifi-book ones? Right.

So please tuck in and have a read of my offering for this week.

She prayed they would leave the house alone. It was only a matter of time before this hill was taken. Did she have time?

… Kate …

A hard jog put her across the field and up against the north wall of the house. She collapsed at its foot, back braced against the bumpy stone wall for support. Her heart pounded, a rhythmic tattoo in her ears, as she sucked in painful breaths. She willed her body to calm down from the unaccustomed exertion. It didn’t help that her legs felt like gelatine had been used in their construction.

I hope you enjoyed that.

Please do go and see the other snippets that have been posted by my fellow science fiction and fantasy writers here.

*I am away in London for the day, so will only get to respond and maybe read other snippets in the evening – if I get that far. A day in London usually wears me out! So it may only be Sunday.

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in SFFS Snippet. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to SFFS 24/08/2013 – Fear

  1. jccassels says:

    So many questions. Love the descriptions and the way you put the reader right into Kate’s skin.

    Like

  2. Of course gelatine was used in the construction! You get gelatine by boiling bones.

    Like

  3. Tara Quan says:

    I love your twist on the “legs turned to jelly” phrase. You really got me rooting for her. Great snippet.

    Like

  4. S.A. Check says:

    I like the scenario about someone off world dreaming about Earth and vice-versa – nice twist and I’m looking forward to seeing where it goes.

    Like

  5. Great details and sense of urgency. Her dread is palpable and the whole situation leaves the head spinning with questions. Good spinning, though.

    Like

Comments are closed.