SFFS 31/08/2013

Hi everyone! I’m back again this week, and I’ll continue posting from Fear. This week’s snippet continues from where we left off last week.

Precious moments passed before she felt ready to move again. Keeping low, she peered around the corner of the house. No one was in sight. She manoeuvred around the corner and crawled to the back door. She reached a weary hand up to the handle and turned it. A wave of relief crashed over her as the catch snicked open and the door creaked inwards. Cool air tumbled out of the house, along with a dank, musty smell that competed with the sulphurous haze outside.

Staying on hands and knees, she entered the house. The cold, hard flagstones were smooth in contrast to the rough ground sheโ€™d moved over outdoors. Almost like a frozen lake.

I hope you enjoyed that!

Please do go through to the list of participating authors and read their science fiction and fantasy snippets.

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in SFFS Snippet, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SFFS 31/08/2013

  1. Nice! This snippet draws me in. I want to know whose house this is and why she’s breaking in. Good description.

    Like

  2. Is this set during WW II? Or are these some other “Nazi’s” mentioned last week?

    Like

  3. Great details, Laurel. Definitely sets a mood!

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Heidi

    Like

  4. Tara Quan says:

    You have a way with imagery. I could see everything she was seeing, doing and feeling in my head. Looking forward to the next snippet!

    Like

Comments are closed.