Stranger Danger?

Back when I was somewhere between eight and ten years old, I made a mistake. It was after Museum Club the one day, and I had crossed the road from the museum to wait on the other side for my Dad to pick me up. It was a little after 5pm, and he would have been on his way home from work. As I was waiting, a car drove up, parked in front of me, and the man in the car wound the window down. He said he knew where I lived, as he lived at the top of the road from us, and would I like a lift home? I got into the car.

Now that I am a Mom, I totally understand the hiding I got as a result of that escapade!! Thankfully that man WAS honest, and he DID drop me off at home. But here’s the thing. I didn’t for one second doubt him, and it didn’t even enter into my mind that Dad would miss me if he came to pick me up and I wasn’t there. AND… I did NOT recognise him. And yes, I WAS aware of the concept of stranger danger. By the time I was thirteen I had a fully-developed sixth sense – not, I might add, enhanced by this event.

So what made me think of this incident? This link.

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Life, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stranger Danger?

  1. jccassels says:

    That’s why it’s important to explain to your children that adults will never require a child’s help.

    Like

Comments are closed.