Where is the Church?

14 What good is it, my brothers and sisters, if someone claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save them? 15 Suppose a brother or a sister is without clothes and daily food. 16 If one of you says to them, “Go in peace; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about their physical needs, what good is it? 17 In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead. – James 2:14-17

As many around the world know, the UK has been battered by storms for the last almost-two months, with some communities now abandoned and several others evacuated. Over the last two days the question running through my mind has been “where is the church?” And by this I don’t mean “Is the church praying for the flood victims?” That is all too easy to do. No. The church needs to be helping physically – whether it be by giving financially or by actually getting into one’s car and driving down to physically help building the flood barriers, providing food and other necessities to the victims. To not do this brings into question the faith of those who are praying – according to the above scripture. I live not even two hours away from areas affected badly by the flooding and I haven’t heard of any churches local to me getting involved in any sort of support for the flood victims. If anyone local to me (Oxfordshire) reads this and knows otherwise, I would love to know about it!

While I had heard that the churches local to the flooding have been giving what aid they can in this time of crisis, I had not heard of any national effort to lend assistance. I have just run an internet search and, to my relief, have learned of two appeal funds that are raising money to help flood victims. Here is one, and here is the other. There may be more (I hope?), but these were found on a quick search.

Christians, please don’t let your comfort be placed before those who are in a real crisis.

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Christian, Life. Bookmark the permalink.