Patience isn’t a virtue…

…I can easily lay claim to.

I have been quite frustrated for the last couple of days – but this particular frustration actually goes back several years. I have long felt a desire to “do something”… mostly for God, to be honest… but that “something” has never been anything concrete. Over the years I have tried different projects – all of which have ended in failure, me being more frustrated and… yeah.

Yesterday I was visiting a friend, and she shared with me about some verses that her husband holds on to, and they have been nagging at me ever since. These are they:

Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord , I will be joyful in God my Savior.

— Habakkuk 3:17,18

Something else that went through my mind was the chorus “We Bring the Sacrifice of Praise” by Kirk Dearman:

We bring the sacrifice of praise
Unto the house of the Lord.
We bring the sacrifice of praise
Unto the house of the Lord.

And we offer up to You
The sacrifices of thanksgiving;
And we offer up to You
The sacrifices of joy.

Then it hit me. God wants me to wait. To praise Him, but to wait.

And I have peace again.

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian, Life. Bookmark the permalink.