The Lord is My Pace Setter…

One of my dearest friends passed away a few hours ago. Three years ago she sent me this adaptation of Psalm 23. I thought I would share it with you all in her memory, as it exemplifies how she faced life and, more recently, her impending passing on from this world.

The Lord is my Pace Setter, I shall not rush,
He makes me stop and rest for quiet intervals,
He provides me with images of stillness,
Which restore my serenity.
He leads me in ways of efficiency,
through calmness of mind; and His guidance is peace.
Even though I have a great many things to accomplish each day,
I will not fret, for His presence is here.
His timelessness, His all-importance will keep me in balance.
He prepares refreshment and renewal in the midst of my activity,
by anointing my head with His oils of tranquility,
My cup of joyous energy overflows.
Surely harmony and effectiveness shall be the fruit of my hours,
For I shall walk in the pace of my Lord,
and dwell in His house for ever.

Toki Miyashina

 

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Christian, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Lord is My Pace Setter…

  1. Jaleta Clegg says:

    That is beautiful. If you don’t mind, I’m printing it out for my wall. I needed that reminder. Thank you for sharing. {{hugs}} for your loss. She sounds like an incredible woman.

    Like

  2. I’m in the hispital at the moment, so this feel very appropriate.

    Like

Comments are closed.