SFFS 08/11/2014

SFFSat logo

Hi all! Welcome to my offering for this week’s round of SFFS. My snippet is again from A Good Day to Die, just a couple of sentences on from where the last snippet ended. Well, I have to give you the end of the scene somehow! So here goes.

The security detail walked in. A bunch of next-gen cyborgs.

“Take him directly to sick bay; no funny stuff.”

“Yes sir,” the one with the silver arm-band said. Two grabbed his upper arms. He growled. They dropped them like hot rocks. He would walk himself to sick bay; he wasn’t their prisoner. Yet.

They left.

So. The R2s, the much-vaunted next-gen cyborgs, were being incapacitated? That must make them feel good. A chuckle escaped his lips. That’d serve them right.

And with that, we conclude the beginning of the tale. I’m not sure where I’ll take you next, but it’ll probably be somewhere interesting.

Thank you for stopping by my blog today. Please leave me a note and let me know what you think of this snippet. Then go across to the SFFS blog and see what other authors have shared this week.

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, SFFS Snippet, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SFFS 08/11/2014

  1. Peter Vialls says:

    So our hero ends up feeling a degree of amusement – maybe things aren’t as bad as he thought. Particularly as they are obviously nervous of him. I’m not sure if it was what the Admiral intended, but it seems to have boosted our protagonist’s self-esteem.

    So where to from here?

    Like

Comments are closed.