SFFS 20/12/2014

SFFSat logo

 

Hi all! Thought I’d come back for one last post before Christmas. The last few weeks have kept me out of the game, pretty much. But here I am.

My snippet this week continues straight on from the previous one, taken from A Good Day to Die. Shona, the captain of a starship, has just heard the news that a James Hamilton is the only survivor on a research station – a research station that her husband Oleyvan works on.

Shona’s skin ran cold. One survivor? Oleyvan?

“One? Double-check that.”

Shona waited for the response. She glanced over at her first officer, Tank. She could already read the worry in his eyes.

The reply came back immediately. “Sir. He confirms. ‘One. I am the only survivor.’”

The only survivor of what? What had happened on that station?

So there you go. Lots of questions raised here, I know.

Please let me know your thoughts on the above snippet. Remember, too, that I am one of a number of authors who share snippets of their work – whether rough draft (which mine is) or published copy. You can find the links to the others’ snippets here.

Thank you for stopping by.

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, SFFS Snippet, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SFFS 20/12/2014

  1. Peter Vialls says:

    Lots of questions and alarm – and also the interesting question of how this relates to our android friend. Is he going to help, or is he the cause of this?

    Like

  2. Too short! Will we ever find out what happened?

    Like

    • I can honestly say at this point in time that I have no clue if we ever will. If James knows, he isn’t talking. My suspicion is that he doesn’t know either, but that’s just a hunch.

      Like

  3. jccassels says:

    ARGH! Wonderful way to create nail-biting tension in so few words.

    Like

Comments are closed.