Ditching the Daily…

A couple of days ago I started clearing out my email account. Not for any particular reason. Just removing all the chaff, really. It’s crazy how many emails one can store up in nine years…

One of the things I realised, due to an email landing in my inbox where I could see it instead of diverting directly into a folder, was that I receive some daily emails that I *never* read. I’m not good at “daily”, whether it’s devotional books, emails, desktop calendars (my current one says 9th Feb…*goes to take a few sheets off*), blog posts, stories… the one that was in the inbox was from a website mailing list that mails out science fiction short stories every day. Yeah. I didn’t even get to reading those.

There is, however, one thing (apart from hygiene-related and social media, I have to admit) that I do manage to commit to daily, and that’s reading my Bible. Unless I’m totally wiped out, I am able to keep up with the reading plan I follow. So why carry around the rest of the baggage? I’m no longer going to even attempt to follow “dailies”. If one comes up that I follow, then fine, but I’m not going to beat myself over the head about them.

