Faith Matters: God Made the Call

I’ve heard of Christians who see technology as evil. I don’t, and I’ll tell you one of the reasons why.

I can’t remember now how old I was, perhaps eighteen or nineteen. I had bought my first mobile with my own money, a Motorola, which kept me in touch with friends and distant family.

One day I was at home and my mobile rang. I was the other end of the house, in the kitchen, and by the time I reached my phone, the caller had cut off. On seeing on the screen that my youth leader, by then a good friend, had called, I went to the landline to call her back. She was a bit surprised to hear from me, but said there was something I could help her with: she was at the scene of a fatal accident at least an hour or so’s drive from town. Being a trained nurse, she was helping as she could, but they needed an ambulance. And there was the fatality, and could I please let the family concerned know. I got off the phone, called for an ambulance to go out to the accident, then steeled myself to phone the family (unknown to me, and in a different city) to inform them that a member of their family had passed away. Those two tasks done – the latter not an easy one, mind – I kept in touch with my friend , to ensure she had everything she needed.

Later on, we compared notes. The uppermost question in both our minds was, how was it I’d called her just when she needed me? Fact was, she had had NO credit on her phone at the time (not being on a contract), and this was before the days when one could make an emergency call without credit. This was also the reason no-one had been able to call an ambulance or notify the family. The evidence was, my phone’s call list insisted I had received a call from her mobile.

For us, there was only one answer: God made the call.

One thought on “Faith Matters: God Made the Call

Comments are closed.