Memories of VE Day

My Mom wrote down her memories of VE Day.

We were in Ashford in May 1945 when war was declared to be at an end. I remember the crowds in the centre of the town and the dancing and singing. I was not with the family, as far as I remember. I was just a little girl who was also swept up into the dancing. People linked arms and we were gathered into rows. I was in one of the rows. There was a band and we sang and danced ‘Knees up Mother Brown’, the Lambeth Walk and the ‘Pallais Glide’ and other stuff I do not remember but round and round we all went. It was just a huge celebration. I was not very apt but no one worried.

We went back to New Malden and there we had a street party in Montem Road. I started at Burlington Road School in the autumn of 1945, and would be seven later that year. Each child received a certificate from the King and I still have mine. It is dated the 8th June 1946. On the back is a list of important war dates. Dad added when he joined the Army and when he left, on October 15th 1945. I do not know if he came back on that date. I rather think he did not. I seem to remember that he came home the following year.

This is the certificate from King George.

angela 20

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in In the News, Life. Bookmark the permalink.