SFFS 23/05/2015

SFFSat logo

 

 

Hi everyone!

If you aren’t aware already, it’s SFFS’s 4th birthday this week, and so we’ve got a bumper lineup of snippets for you all to read. Please grab a coffee and take some time to have a look at what we’ve got in store for you.

Last week, my snippet from Takeover Bid gave us a glimpse of the interior of the Nuren, the massive interplanetary cruiser my hero (Terren) and heroine (Layni) board near the beginning of the story. This week, we meet Frelix Mantuso, maître d’ of the Cranz Lounge on board the Nuren, and a friend of Terren’s. So, without further ado, we pick up where we left off last week:

“dal Nadhi! Grand to see you! Do come inside and take a seat! It’ll be your favourite, of course!”

Terren would have shaken his head if he could move. Instead, he settled for a wry grin – more for his own benefit than Frelix’s, considering Frelix wouldn’t be able to see. As it was, he was plastered up against the rock hard frame of the jovial Frelix. Feebly he tried to exert some pressure to extract himself from the embrace, but instead, he sensed himself being steered in whatever direction Frelix desired. Thankfully, it wasn’t long before Frelix deposited him in a chair at a table with a view of the stars beyond the bulkhead. He inhaled deeply and wriggled his extremities a bit, surreptitiously, to ensure blood still flowed to them.

Frelix squeezed his bulk into another chair and hailed a waiter over. The lanky boy arrived before Terren could blink twice. “One of order 365, drinks to arrive yesterday.”

Ok, so there isn’t all that much about Frelix just yet. I’ll try and pop back in next weekend with some more.

Thank you very much for dropping by. Do let me know your thoughts. And then pop over to the main blog (link earlier in the post) to see what my fellow writers and authors have posted.

12 thoughts on “SFFS 23/05/2015

  1. You claim you’ve not said much about Frelix, but you’ve already told us quite a lot about him – enough to make me have sympathy for Terren! Good snippet – and happy birthday for SFFS!

  2. Great snippet! Love the interaction, and it gives us quite a bit more about the characters involved. The ending of the snippet (the dialogue) was a bit confusing to me, though, but that sometimes happens to me now and again.

  3. I really liked the first line where he spoke in, I’m assuming, his native dialect and then English – it struck me as very honest and I could totally see it happening. I agree – you painted a pretty clear picture of Frelix already – I like him. Looking forward to more.

  4. Everybody has one of “those” friends! Brilliant characterization. It paints a vivid picture of Frelix’s personality and their relationship. Nicely done.

Comments are closed.