SFFS 25/07/2015

SFFSat logo

Hi all. This week I’m sharing again from Earth Alpha, my scifi short. So I’ll let you dive straight in. For reference, a klaxon just went off in the transport from Earth.

Preparing for docking. Please take a seat and fasten your seat belts.

Sabina rolled her eyes. Was it a signal of the decay of humanity that the voice was computer-generated, and unrealistic? All the seats had, from what she’d seen on embarkation, long since been removed from the transport, leaving what was left of humanity to the hazardous mercies of untreated metal.

The craft shook as it coupled noisily with the space station, the clangs reverberating through the hull and their eardrums. Quite a few shouts went up around her as heads collided and body parts were grabbed onto randomly, as people clung to what they could to remain upright.

You have arrived on Hope. Have a safe journey.

Almost as one, the pack of humanity surged forward, only to be caught by the airlock. Only one person could exit at a time. Sabina sighed. She would rather be out in one piece, thank you very much. She prayed to whatever gods there were that people would see sense and take this slowly and orderly. She stood silently, burying her mind in thoughts of better places.

And there you have it.

Thanks for stopping by. Do let me know your thoughts, and don’t forget to check out the other snippets our lovely authors have made available on the main SFFS blog.

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, SFFS Snippet, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SFFS 25/07/2015

  1. Peter Vialls says:

    I like Sabina’s thoughts – she feels very real and natural in her reactions to the events around her.

    Like

  2. I liked “body parts were grabbed onto randomly” – illustrating the chaos at a sudden stop.

    Like

  3. S.A. Check says:

    Did she really think they were going to get off the transport in an orderly fashion? I have this visual of of one big block of people slamming repeatedly into the exit door. Good stuff!! Now, I’m really curious to see what’s on the other side of that door.

    Like

  4. T. M. Hunter says:

    Loving this set of snippets. Can’t wait for the full thing to be available. I, too, enjoy the random body part grabbing line…but I can only imagine what body parts were being grabbed. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.