SFFS 22/08/2015

SFFSat logo

Hello all! I’m SO excited this week to be able to share the final part of Earth Alpha with you all! It’s been a long wait for you, I know, but here is THE END! Enjoy… maybe…

Embarkation in five minutes. Embarkation in five minutes.

Sabina edged closer to the door. Her window-gazing companion appeared to be similarly concerned, as he followed her toward to the airlock.

Doors will now open for embarkation. Departure in thirty minutes. Have a safe journey.

The airlock cycled open, and a blast of heat hit her. Beyond the metal rims of the airlock, a blazing furnace burned white hot. She retreated, cowering against the searing wave. But retreat wasn’t an option. The human crush was fully in action, and she was pushed through the lock, her eyes wide in horror.

We’ve all been lied to!

And there you have it, folks! Thanks for bearing with me up till now 🙂 I’m not sure what I’ll be bringing next week, but I’ll think of something.

Don’t forget to head over to the main SFFS blog to see the snippets my fellow authors have posted. Some good stuff lurks there.

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, SFFS Snippet, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to SFFS 22/08/2015

  1. jccassels says:

    I KNEW IT!! Great foreshadowing to this point! Nicely crafted story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not a happy ending! Is there a sequel?

    Like

  3. S.A. Check says:

    I knew it. I knew it. I knew it. Embarkation…my left foot.
    Great snippets all around on this! It really drew me in.

    Like

  4. Peter Vialls says:

    I had a very nasty suspicion that something like this was coming. I was half expecting them to get into space, and then for the hatches to be opened to vacuum. Same effect – yours was more dramatic and immediate. Yes, they have been lied to – terminally. Ouch… Good story – it worked very well, with the beautiful ship in the last segment contrasting very cruelly with the savage ending.

    Like

Comments are closed.