Review of How the Future Got Better by Eric Schaller

18586183This story is about a family who settles down in front of their TV to see what the FoTax does: it’s set five minutes fast.

A TV set that can see five minutes into the future is a recipe for self-fulfilling prophecies, if you ask me. Quite frankly, I just don’t see the point of sitting around watching what you’re going to be doing in five mins time.

1/5 rating.

My other reviews of this collection can be found here.

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review of How the Future Got Better by Eric Schaller

  1. I actually really liked this one! I compared it to Seinfeld: it’s about story about nothing, but I found it hilarious at times šŸ™‚

    Like

    • Well. I’ve been thinking about this one some – upon reading your comment. Yes, it is a story about nothing, but there are some questions I can come up with.

      Probably most importantly, exactly what is the role of the FoTax? It allows people to see themselves in five minutes time, but there are some … missing elements? Firstly, when the mother refuses to sit down, her image on the FoTax channel fades… so would she REALLY cease to exist if she didn’t sit down? And how would that happen – would she fade away to nothing, or crash down dead on the floor. Secondly, I don’t recall seeing any movement on the FoTax channel. People would just be doing something ‘new’, like sitting down, holding a beer can… so the FoTax is not showing an actual sequence of events, but perhaps just planting ideas? And yet there appears to be retribution if the idea is not followed… so idea, or coercion to a certain behaviour? Finally, what would happen if the FoTax could be turned off? Can it, in fact, be turned off?

      Heh. Maybe this one’s going to climb the ratings at this rate, with all the questions it’s making me ask – which may be the point of the story, really…

      Like

Comments are closed.