Review of Hwang’s Billion Brilliant Daughters by Alice Sola Kim

18586183This was an odd story, and not one I connected with in the slightest. The narrative is disjointed, and somewhat difficult to follow. This may be deliberate, I’ll grant, to give the reader a sense of the disorientation Hwang experiences as he constantly leaps forward in time whenever he sleeps – he never knows when or where he will wake up… well, the where is given, but in terms of how the culture outside his time-travelling room will be, he never knows. He can also sleep for as short as hours/minutes, I suppose, or as long as many years.

I did like the way in which Hwang time travelled, and the glimpses of the futures he experienced were intriguing, but there was barely any information, and I didn’t get the whole thing with daughters. What’s that all about then?

2/5 rating.

My other reviews of this collection can be found here.

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.