Review of Himself in Anachron by Cordwainer Smith

18586183The protagonist Tasco and his new wife Gita take a time trip for their honeymoon, with the objective of finding the Knot, a knot in time. Images (for the Knot) that come to mind include that of a pendulum swinging, or alternately, a whirlpool. Their timeship gets caught in the Knot and to get out of it, they have to shed weight. Including one of themselves. So Tasco gets out. That bit was very sad.

I really liked the visual imagery in this short read. Smith totally gives a sense of time flying by, of the greyness of time passing. I was fascinated how he managed to make reality something that one would imagine to be totally intangible – time.

An odd, but interesting, story.

3/5 rating.

My fellow time travelling readers are:

Timothy C. Ward
Alesha Escobar
H.M. Jones
DJ (@MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape)

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Review of Himself in Anachron by Cordwainer Smith

  1. aleshaescobar says:

    It was an enjoyable read, though it did leave me with some questions toward the end. I thought the beginning did a great job of drawing me in. Oh, and welcome to the group, Laurel! šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed Tasco traveling through time, and seeing as everything passed and changed around him – the bit at the end with the 4 mural painting things was a cool twists – but that was about it for me. I know Smith was trying to go for an emotional connecting with characters, but they didn’t do anything for me, and I felt that the actual time travel was made to seem more complicated than it needed to be.

    I still did enjoy it; I gave it a 3 as well.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on hmjones66 and commented:
    Laurel is the newest addition to Time Travel Thursday

    Like

  4. I was trying to picture the knot in my mind and I couldn’t grasp it, though I did like the snapshots of his martyrdom. It made me think, “Hmmm…I bet this guy never thought that would happen.” The characters were not my favorite, but I was intrigued by the knot.

    Like

Comments are closed.