Review of The Time Machine by HG Wells

18586183This review is specific to an extract read as part of The Time Traveller’s Almanac in 2015. I have previously read the whole book – and give it a rating of 4/5 stars.

In this extract, the Traveller details his first experience of time travel in the time machine he built.

I really enjoyed reading this extract. The descriptions are almost poetic in quality, and what would probably take most writers a few sentences to detail, Wells does in paragraphs – and it is not boring! I loved the descriptions as the machine moves faster and faster through time, both the visual depictions as well as the Traveller’s account of his feelings as he observes changes around him. Poignant and beautiful, with hints of sadness mixed in.

I think this is one of the best reads so far from The Time Traveller’s Almanac, so I’m giving it 5/5 stars.

My fellow time travelling readers are:

Timothy C. Ward
Alesha Escobar
H.M. Jones
DJ (@MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape)

4 thoughts on “Review of The Time Machine by HG Wells

  1. Yes! I simply loved those paragraphs and paragraphs of description! Because of the descriptions, the feeling of speed, going faster and faster, and connecting to our narrator’s emotions were spot on.

    I was curious, since you read the novella, how far into the story is this excerpt?

    • It is a few years since I’ve read it (probably at least fifteen…), but at the start there was a “III”, which means it’s right at the beginning. Given that he says this was the first trip he made, it’s definitely right near the beginning of the book. I am not sure, however, if this is where he meets the split society (the delicate people who live above ground who are hunted by those who live below, which is seen in the movie), or if that comes later. I have a feeling that comes later on in the book, and isn’t as far in the future as he goes here.

  2. The descriptions were amazing and really drew me in! I am definitely adding the full book to my reading list.

Comments are closed.