Review of The Gulf of the Years by Georges-Olivier Châteaureynaud

18586183Manoir, who calls himself Jean-Pierre, is clearly a time traveller. He travels back into the past to the day his mother was killed by a bomb. Probably some time during World War 2, although this is never stated as such. He searches for a boy, Jean-Jacques Manoir, on his arrival at school, and then takes the boy home.

I found this story to be really sad. It’s difficult to say much without giving any spoilers away. The tale is beautiful – captivating, even – which is doing pretty well for a story that’s been translated into English from the original French. I had to keep reading until it was done. There are some clues as to what’s really going on, but nothing is explicitly stated – which I quite liked.

Overall, a good entry into the Almanac, even if a sad one.

3/5 rating.

My fellow time travelling readers are:

Timothy C. Ward (on hiatus)
Alesha Escobar (maternity leave)
H.M. Jones
DJ (@MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape)

4 thoughts on “Review of The Gulf of the Years by Georges-Olivier Châteaureynaud

  1. I did not like this one. The ending is sad, but why? What was his motivation for that? Unless where he just came from, the world was about to blow up, why? He could have just as easily done the exact opposite.

  2. Well said, Laurel! I don’t expect all time travel stories to be high-spirited or have happy endings, but this one sounds like a dissatisfying, sad read.

  3. I actually think the motive is implicit in the trauma. When you suffer an intense trauma, your mind does not function the same afterwards. I don’t know if we can imagine that kind of trauma, even, a child who grows up an orphan to a war bombing? In a country where a treat is a piece of saccharine candy? Where people are killed for simply being? I think that explains a lot of how inexplicable the ending is. But I, too, loved the writing. I thought it was beautiful, even as sad as it was.

Comments are closed.