SFFS 09/04/2016

Welcome! It is good to have you on board for our final round of SFFS. We’ve been around for almost five years now, and it’s been a wonderful ride. Thank you to each and everyone who has participated and come along to view our snippets that we share.

This week, as is most fitting, I will share a snippet from a brand new WIP called “The Adventure” (working title). Many years ago I fell in love with a ship called MV Doulos, and have been on board her numerous times. In this story I’m trying to convey some of that love a person can have for an object – although in this case, the object is a rather large starship called Adventure! Alyson, my narrator, is in her late teens and lives on a space station currently called (unimaginatively, I think) Space City. So here goes.

She had fallen in love with the ship as a pre-schooler. The most beautiful ship in the galaxy, or so she felt, it’s ancient clean lines were etched on her memory. It had originally been built back during the Cylin War by the Republic to ferry supplies to embargoed worlds and injured soldiers and civilians to the gigantic hospital ships that had taken up locations outside the Rim. Then, at the end of the war, it had been purchased by a leisure cruise company which had totally gutted it’s war-torn hull and rebuilt it from scratch. But it’s original lines had remained. More recently she had become a trade vessel, carrying goods to contract, and supplies where needed. The current captain had a philanthropic bent, or so Sarko had said, so they ran quite a few missions supplying goods and reading materials to the less privileged colonies on the outer Rim. The history of the vessel was so romantic to her mind, and she’d been privileged to see parts of the ship the general civilian population didn’t get to see. It helped when a First Officer took to supplying information to a curious child.

Adventure hadn’t been meant to return for another four cycles, so a small part of her worried as to why it had already returned. And why hadn’t Sarko let on that they were inbound?

Thank you so much for stopping by today. Please be sure to go and read the other authors’ snippets that are available today – for the final time.

Farewell, and be blessed.

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, SFFS Snippet, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to SFFS 09/04/2016

  1. Peter Vialls says:

    Hi Laurel! It’s good to see you writing again – and this looks as though it could work well. Thank you again for SFFS – I’ve really appreciated being part of this community, and I’m going to miss it.

    Like

    • Yeah – the opportunities to write are few and far between – and currently back to hens’ teeth again. And thank you for participating. It’s been good. I will miss it too.

      Like

  2. Misa says:

    Thanks for the ride, Laurel. I hope to see this WIP released eventually!

    Like

  3. Mysteries emerge already. I like the way this story starts, and I think you’ve conveyed the emotional attachment nicely. Thank you for hosting SFFS through the years and for everything you’ve done for me. I will miss it as well.

    Like

  4. S.A. Check says:

    Hey Laurel, great new snippet. It has a very smooth tone to it. Good luck with it! As for SFFS, thank you for all your hard word and dedication, and giving other authors a place to share (I feel like we should at least have a cake or something). Best of luck with all you do and keep in touch!

    Like

    • Thanks S.A. 🙂 I enjoyed writing it.

      It’s a pity one cannot have cake when so spread out, hey? I’ll admit I’m already suffering withdrawals, so something else may be in the offing 😀

      Like

  5. Hi Laurel! I like the clean description and hints of the mystery in this snippet!

    Like

Comments are closed.