Review of Enoch Soames: A Memory of the Eighteen-Nineties by Max Beerbohm

18586183A very strange story this. I’m not sure where to start. The story is of a Max Beerbohm who meets another man called Enoch Soames in 1893. Enoch is distinguishable for his… invisibility. But Beerbohm admires him, perhaps initially idolises him. Soames craves fame, but despite publishing three works over several years, gets none.

Eventually he is so despondent that he reckons to bargain with the Devil himself for a time trip 100 years hence to find out if he is a notable or not. The Devil overhears the desire, and grants it, sending Soames on a trip to the future.

Well. A story gently told, and it held my interest well enough. It studies the human desire most hold for fame and recognition. Somewhat depressing, really, and one garners some sympathy for Soames.

And certainly, time travel with a difference!

2/5 rating.

My fellow time travelling readers are:

Timothy C. Ward (on hiatus)
Alesha Escobar (maternity leave)
H.M. Jones
DJ (@MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape)

2 thoughts on “Review of Enoch Soames: A Memory of the Eighteen-Nineties by Max Beerbohm

  1. This was a Did not finish for me. My week was hectic and I couldn’t get into it. 😦 Thanks for your great review, though, Laurel. I’ll be back up next week with my reviews.

Comments are closed.