Review of Fish Night by Joe Lansdale

18586183This story had me chuckling in parts, shaking my head in others, and hid the odd gem of sheer brilliance with words. Not strictly a time travel story, there is nevertheless time travel – after a fashion. Pretty much of a “strip yourself of things that attach you to this time and you can join another time” nature. And that’s where some of the humour comes in.

One of the gems I came across is:


The sand shifted, found new places to lie down.


I really enjoyed this short story. Vivid writing that captures the imagination, transforming one to a hot, dusty desert road… and then to a chilly, fish-filled desert night. Beware, though… there’s more than one type of fish in the sea, and they aren’t all friendly and benign – especially if you’re swimming in their waters.

4/5 rating

My fellow time travelling readers are:

Alesha Escobar (maternity leave)
H.M. Jones
Lynn’s Books
DJ (@MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape)

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review of Fish Night by Joe Lansdale

  1. The imagery from the narrator’s voice was amazingly hilarious! I included a few quotes in my review too. My favorite part was the ending though. Totally came out of no where, and it was GREAT! XD

    Like

Comments are closed.