Review of Palindromic by Peter Crowther

18586183A bit of a weird story, this. Aliens arrive on Earth… but they don’t… and everything works backwards… but it doesn’t. Hmmm. I mean, fine, I get the concept. It’s a bit like the Doctor and River Song, the one goes forward in time in terms of meetings, the other goes backward, and they have to keep checking their diaries to figure out where on the timeline their meeting is. It isn’t an easy concept to actually wrap one’s head around in literal terms, while conceptually it makes perfect sense. I mean… The aliens arrive, they go slower… Earth then disappears? But that’s in their past… or future… or whatever… My head hurts.

I did enjoy Crowther’s descriptions of the aliens, and even the characters. JJ was the quintessential intellectual who enjoys figuring things out. His friends just happily bumbled alongside him. And their solution to Earth disappearing was pretty… original… I guess. I suppose that at least Earth doesn’t end up disappearing. Yet.

No. Not very overwhelmed by this story. A little underwhelmed… and while bits of it were interesting, my head just hurts. And that’s ok. It’s time travel. Time travel is screwy.

3/5 rating

My fellow time travelling readers are:

Alesha Escobar (maternity leave)
H.M. Jones (on hiatus)
Lynn’s Books
DJ (@MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape)

One thought on “Review of Palindromic by Peter Crowther

  1. The actual plot of story, didn’t really do much for me. It was good, but noting special. It was trying to wrap my head around how that time-travel and the flow of time worked that made this story great for me.

    I did like Crowther’s descriptions of the alines too. Glad it wasn’t the generic “tiny, green men.”

Comments are closed.