Review of A Night on the Barbary Coast by Kage Baker

18586183This was our second outing with Mendoza and Joseph of the Company. This time they’re on the trail of some lichen in the San Francisco area, around the time California joined the Union.

Not much to say about this one. A nice enough read, perhaps even a bit humorous in places, but nothing massive. Just the pair chasing their tails around San Francisco and ending up with a better answer than they’d been chasing. Not much to say on time travel impact, really. There may have been more had a certain character not died naturally. But other than that, one cannot even really comment on how Mendoza and Joseph clearly do interfere in the status quo. Oh, and we got to know Mendoza and Joseph a little bit more this time, which was nice.

This I will say: Kage Baker’s writing is vivid, and sets you right in the scene. There’s no difficulty getting into the Company stories and they’re a bit of a romp.

3/5 rating.

My fellow time travelling readers are:

Timothy C. Ward (on hiatus)
Alesha Escobar (maternity leave)
H.M. Jones
DJ (@MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape)

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review of A Night on the Barbary Coast by Kage Baker

  1. This was a decent story. Nothing really happened, but a still a good read. However, it was also a decent let down from how much I enjoyed Baker’s first story :/

    Like

  2. I liked this one because I like Baker’s writing style. I think I probably enjoyed it equally for that reason. I just really like her prose. I like that she can really set the scene and I liked getting to know the characters. It was fun. I’m at Norwescon this weekend, so my review was a little late. But it’s up now. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.