Review of The Weed of Time by Norman Spinrad

This was a fascinating short story. The narrator relates in it how he has taken Temp (tempus ceti), the “weed of time” referred to in the title, and then attempts to convey how it has affected his life.

In short, I think Spinrad does a brilliant job of showing the reader how the narrator is in all times at once, and how horrendous that could feel. Not an easy concept to convey, and yet I think he managed pretty well with this.

Rating: 4/5 stars.

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.