Review of As Time Goes By by Tanith Lee

This is an interesting story, although I’ll admit to a significant amount of headscratching. It’s a tale told by a woman on a space station at or near or around a white hole – a time-neutral way-station, of sorts (from what I can understand). It concerns a ship called Napoleon, captained by a Day Curtis. It tells of a time paradox whereby Curtis meets a young woman, first when she is aged 16, and again fifteen years later. Except the first meeting in her timeline is in his future, not his past.

I appreciated that Lee doesn’t define many of the terms she uses, but leaves the reader to interpret them. Also, I appreciated the confusion, as I feel it was a device specifically used to develop the atmosphere of the story, which in fact deals with the confusion of time/space/whatever outside the white hole zone.

An interesting read for anyone who likes temporal paradoxes and messing around with time.

Rating: 4/5 stars

About Laurel C Kriegler

A born and bred South African, I was educated at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa, where I graduated with an Honours Degree (post-graduate) in Economics at the end of 2001. After spending several years gaining work experience in the UK, I returned to South Africa to get married. It was during the ensuing period that my pursuits of writing and editing took hold.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.